Building Bridges

A few days ago I searched and found an old picture of the Golden Gate Bridge to show my son after he completed building a lego of it. It had been over 7 years since that pre-kid trip to San Francisco. (And probably just as long since I looked at those images.)

Then tonight while putting my daughter to sleep, I thought about that image. I thought about bridges and everything going on.

I thought about how bridges represent connection. I thought about how they represent unity between places and people. I thought about how … while bridges are all around us connecting location to location,

there are other #bridges too.

They are the bridges we build in our lives with our actions and #words .

They are bridges we build by speaking up and using what we have right now … to do what is right.

They are bridges that bring #hope.

Whether we like it or even know it, we are always building something. But it’s not always a bridge; sometimes it is a wall.

In order to build bridges, we must tear down the walls. We must halt the construction of those things that divide.

So tonight even if I do not spend hours building #Legos like my son, I pray and continue to pray I am building bridges and not walls. I pray and continue to pray for a country and world where more and more people do that too.

“Like an expert builder I built the foundation of that house. I used the gift that God gave me to do this. Others are building on that foundation. But everyone should be careful how he builds. The foundation has already been built. No one can build any other foundation. The foundation that has already been laid is Jesus Christ.” (1 Corinthians‬ ‭3:10-11‬ ‭ICB)‬‬

#unity #bridges #usewhatyouhave #connections ##kids #motherhood #momlife #parenting #scripture #sanfrancisco #beforekids #timeless #lessons #praying #building #bekindalways #speakup #kindness #love #kindnessislove #everydayfaith #howtobekind #suchatimeasthis #jesus #theartofamessyhouse

Leave a comment